On 6 October 2015, following a UN Security Council Resolution which terminated financial sanctions against Liberia, the EU removed eight individuals and thirty entities from its Liberia sanctions list. The asset freezes and travel bans had been in place since as early as 2004, when they were introduced in response to alleged misappropriation of state assets by the former President Charles Taylor and his associates.

The UN Security Council has renewed its arms embargo on Liberia for a further nine months, recognising that the situation in Liberia continues to constitute a threat to peace and security in the region.

The EU sanctions have been lifted pursuant to Council Regulation (EU) 2015/1776, repealing Council Regulation 872/2004, and Council Decision (CFSP) 2015/1782, repealing Council Common Position 2004/487/CFSP and amending Council Common Position 2008/109/CFSP.

Further information on the identities of the delisted individuals and entities can be viewed here.