By unanimous consent, members of the U.S. Senate last Friday approved the nominations of Mignon Clyburn and Meredith Atwell Baker as FCC commissioners, as former FCC Commissioner Jonathan Adelstein was confirmed unanimously as chief of the Rural Utilities Service (RUS). Clyburn, a Democrat and former member of the South Carolina Public Commission, and Baker—a Republican and former acting administrator of the National Telecommunications & Information Administration (NTIA)—are expected to begin their duties at the FCC on August 1 after being sworn in. Adelstein, meanwhile, will move a few blocks from the FCC to the RUS, where, in cooperation with the FCC and the NTIA, he will coordinate the distribution of $2.5 billion in funds earmarked under the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act for rural broadband deployment. Clyburn and Baker will also be on hand for the FCC’s August 27 open meeting, where, for the first time this year, items will be voted by a full five-member panel. Congratulating Clyburn and Baker, FCC Chairman Julius Genachowski proclaimed, “with the full slate of Commissioners on board, I look forward to working with all of my colleagues on policies that promote innovation, investment, competition and consumers.” Applauding Adelstein’s confirmation, Genachowski added: “I look forward to forging a strong partnership with Jonathan as the FCC and RUS collaborate to extend the benefits of broadband to all corners of the country.”