In Texas, voter turnout for the presidential race dropped almost 11% from 2008. Texans voted 57.13% for the Romney/Ryan ticket and 41.38% for the Obama/Biden ticket.

One Texas U.S. Senate seat was up for election due to the retirement of Republican Senator Kay Bailey Hutchison. Ted Cruz, former Solicitor General, made headlines in the Texas primary in May when he defeated Texas' Lieutenant Governor David Dewhurst. Yesterday in the general election he again made headlines as he was elected the first Latino U.S. Senator and the first tea party member in the Senate from Texas.

Texas gained 4 seats in the U.S. House of Representatives due to reapportionment of the 2010 Census, moving the total number of seats from 32 to 36. Most of the incumbent Congressional delegation was re-elected with the exception of one upset. Congressman "Quico" Canseco was defeated by Democratic State Representative Pete Gallego. Other new Congressmen include: current State Representatives Randy Weber (R, CD-12), Joaquin Castro (D, CD-20), and Marc Veasey (D, CD- 33); and Beto O'Rourke (D-CD 16), former Texas Secretary of State Roger Williams (R-CD 25), Filemon Vela (D-CD 34), and Steve Stockman (R-CD 36).

Governor Rick Perry and Lieutenant Governor David Dewhurst and other Texas statewide officials are not up for re-election until 2014.

In the Texas Senate, the Republicans remain the majority with 19 Republicans and 11 Democrats. In one of the most watched races of the state, Senator Wendy Davis (D) defeated challenger and State Representative Mark Shelton by less than 7,000 votes. The count above is missing one Senator due to the recent death of Senator Mario Gallegos. State Senate District 6 re-elected Senator Gallegos; Governor Perry will call a special election to replace him.

The Texas House of Representatives continues to have a Republican majority and after last night's election it will be comprised of 95 Republicans and 55 Democrats when the legislature convenes in January. Last session the Republicans had a supermajority of 102 Republicans and 48 Democrats. Several state house incumbents held off their opponents in highly contested races such as: Representative Craig Eiland (D-Galveston); J.M. Lozano (R-Kingsville), Linda Harper Brown (R-Irving), Kenneth Sheets (R-Dallas) and Sarah Davis (R-Houston).

There were several upsets last night including the losses of incumbents: State Representative Connie Scott (R-Corpus Christi) lost to former State Reprehensive Abel Herrero (D-Portland); State Representative Dee Margo (R-El Paso) lost to former Rep. Joe Moody (R-El Paso); and Representative John V. Garza (R-San Antonio) was defeated by Philip Cortez (D-San Antonio).

The house will have many new faces since 49 legislators will not be returning for the 83rd session. Some new members who fought tough general election races include: Jason Villalba (R-Dallas), Tony Dale (R-Cedar Park), Gene Wu (D-Houston), and Mary Ann Perez (D-Houston).

Texas Hot Races & Percentages of the Vote

Click here to view table.



Prefiling: Next Monday, November 12, is the first day for legislators to pre-file bills

Session begins: Tuesday, January 8, 2013