The Infrastructure Plan 2014 (NIP 14) was published on 2 December 2014, as part of the Build up to the chancellor's Autumn Statement.

The Chief Secretary to the Treasury (Mr Danny Alexander), in a Written Statement to Parliament (endnote 1) outlined the Government’s commitment to infrastructure in the build up to the last Budget for this Parliament, due in March 2015.

A summary of the new announcements in the NIP 14 for devolved administrations of Northern Ireland, Scotland and Wales are set out below:

In Northern Ireland, Scotland and Wales, the split between the responsibility of the UK government and each of the devolved administrations for infrastructure policy and funding varies according to the distinct devolution settlement in place for each administration.  NIP 14 states that the Government remains committed to supporting investment in Northern Ireland, Scotland and Wales in areas where policy responsibility is non-devolved.

In Wales this means government support for: electrification of Great Western Main Line to Cardiff and Swansea and Welsh Valleys Line, Wylfa Newydd Nuclear Power Station and Superfast Cymru Phase 2.

In NI and Scotland the devolved responsibilities include rail specification, roads, local transport, policy and funding for flood defence, water and waste disposal.  The UK Government support includes:

  • Superfast NI Broadband Improvement Phase 2
  • Islandmagee Gas Storage Facility
  • Peterhead CCS
  • Digital Scotland Phase 2
  • Beatrice Offshore Wind Farm (one of 8 projects to receive an early investment contract).