During the week ended 14 January 2011 the appointment of Chairmen and Boards for the three European Supervisory Authorities was announced. The Chairmen are as follows:

  • European Securities & Markets Authority (“ESMA”): Steven Maijoor;  
  • European Banking Authority (“EBA”): Andrea Enria; and  
  • European Insurance and Occupational Pensions Authority (“EIOPA”): Gabriel Bernardino.


Steven Maijoor is currently a Director at the Netherlands Authority for the Financial Markets (AFM) where he is responsible for financial reporting, auditing issues, market integrity supervision and part of the business operations. Carlos Tavares was also elected Vice-Chairman of ESMA, having been appointed as the interim Chairman in 2010, and will continue as such until Professor Maijoor takes office.  


Andrea Enria is currently the Head of the Supervisory Regulations and Policies Department at the Bank of Italy. Thomas Huertas, formerly Vice-Chairman of CEBS and currently the Banking Sector Director at the FSA in the UK, has been elected as the EBA’s Alternate Chairman. He will carry out the functions of the Chairman in the latter’s absence and until Mr Enria has officially taken up his duties.

The EBA’s Board of Supervisors also elected six representatives from the national supervisory Authorities to serve as members of the EBA Management Board. The six elected members are: Martin Andersson, Finansinspektionen, Sweden; Sabine Lautenschlager, BaFin, Germany; Danièle Nouy, Autorité de Contrôle Prudentiel, France; David Rozumek, Ceska Narodni Banka, Czech Republic; Karoly Szasz, Pénzügyi Szervezetek Állami Felügyelete, Hungary; and Jukka Vesala, Finanssivalvonta, Finland. It is understood that Jonathan Faull, from the European Commission, will also participate in meetings of the Management Board of the EBA.


Gabriel Bernardino is currently the Director General of the Directorate for Development and Institutional Relations at the Instituto de Seguros de Portugal.