A number of states and municipalities have recently passed legislation regulating undocumented workers and imposing immigration-related obligations on employers. Consequently, employers now need to ensure compliance with state and local immigration laws in addition to federal immigration laws. The following states now require certain employers to use E-Verify, often in connection with state contracts and subcontracts: Arizona, Colorado, Georgia, Idaho, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Rhode Island, South Carolina and Utah. Arizona now requires all employers, public and private, doing business in the state to use E-Verify. Mississippi employers with over 250 employees must also register to use E-Verify. The E-Verify requirement for smaller Mississippi employers will be phased in over the next several years. South Carolina employers with more than 500 employees must begin using E-Verify on January 1, 2009; smaller employers will be phased in.