Montenegro, Iceland, Albania, Liechtenstein, Norway and Ukraine, all non-members of the EU, have agreed to align their sanctions policies with the restrictive measures that the EU has imposed in respect of Ukraine, with one exception in the case of Liechtenstein.

All have aligned themselves with Council Decision 2014/658/CFSP amending Council Decision 2014/145/CFSP and associated Council Regulation (EU) No 269/2014 as amended by Council Regulation (EU) No 959/2014. Collectively, these instruments provide for restrictive measures against those “responsible for actions which undermine or threaten the territorial integrity, sovereignty and independence of Ukraine”.

Further, all bar Liechtenstein have aligned themselves with Council Decision 2014/659/CFSP amending Council Decision 2014/512/CFSP and associated Council Regulation (EU) No 833/2014 as amended by Council Regulation (EU) No 960/2014. Together, these instruments impose restrictive measures in view of Russia’s actions in destabilising the situation in Ukraine. Council Decision 2014/512/CFSP expanded the list of entities subject to restrictions (including Russian financial, defence and energy companies) as well as widening restrictions on access to EU capital markets. It also prohibits the export of dual-use goods and the provision of services for Russian deep-water or Arctic oil exploration and production, and for Russian shale oil projects.

EU Press Release (1)

EU Press Release (2)

Council Decision 2014/659/CFSP

Council Decision 2014/658/CFSP

Council Decision 2014/512/CFSP

Council Decision 2014/145/CFSP

Council Regulation (EU) No 960/2014

Council Regulation (EU) No 959/2014

Council Regulation (EU) No 833/2014

Council Regulation (EU) No 269/2014