30 new schools are to be built or refurbished under the third and final phase of Scotland's Schools for the Future programme, the Scottish Government has revealed.

Under the plans, Scotland will spend a total of £1.25bn on 67 new schools by March 2018.

Education Secretary Michael Russell commented, "This is also fantastic news for Scotland's construction sector. By identifying all 30 schools now, we can get the projects moving and offer some certainty to one of Scotland's key industries, providing a welcome boost to our economic recovery." The 30 new schools, by Council area, are:

  • Aberdeen City Council – new secondary to replace Torry and Kincorth Academies*  (R)
  • Aberdeenshire Council – Alford Community Campus* (R)
  • Angus Council – Forfar Academy* (R)
  • Argyll & Bute Council – Oban High School (R)
  • City of Edinburgh Council – St John’s Primary School (C)
  • Clackmannanshire Council – Craigbank Primary School (C)
  • Comhairle nan Eilean Siar – New Primary School in North Uist (C)
  • Dumfries & Galloway Council – Crichton 15+ secondary school (R)
  • Dundee City Council – Baldragon Academy (R)
  • East Ayrshire Council – New secondary to replace Kilmarnock and James Hamilton Academies (R)
  • East Dunbartonshire Council – New primary school (C)
  • East Renfrewshire Council – Barrhead High School* (R)
  • Falkirk Council – Carrongrange ASN School (C)
  • Fife Council – New secondary to replace Buckhaven and Kirkland High Schools* (R)
  • Glasgow City Council – Garscadden Primary School (C)          
  • Highland Council – Inverness Royal Academy* (R)
  • Inverclyde Council – St Patrick’s Primary School (C) (refurb)
  • Midlothian Council – Newbattle High School* (R)
  • Moray Council – Elgin High School* (R)
  • North Ayrshire Council – New secondary to replace Ardrossan and Auchenharvie Academies (R)
  • North Lanarkshire Council – Greenfaulds High School* (R)
  • Perth & Kinross Council – New secondary school (R)
  • Renfrewshire Council – New ASN school (C)
  • Scottish Borders Council – Kelso High School* (R)
  • Shetland Islands Council – Anderson High School* (R)
  • South Ayrshire Council – Marr College* (R)
  • South Lanarkshire Council – New primary to replace Halfmerke Primary School and West Mains ASN school (C)
  • Stirling Council – St Ninian’s Primary School (C)
  • West Dunbartonshire Council – Our Lady and St Patrick’s High School (R)
  • West Lothian Council – West Calder High School (C) (refurb)

* denotes schools that could start construction with next 12 -18 months.

ASN – Additional Support Needs

(R) – NPD revenue financed

(C) –  capital financed