Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia, Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Liechtenstein, Norway, Ukraine, Moldova and Armenia, all non-members of the EU, have agreed to align their sanctions policies with the EU’s restrictive measures in respect of Burundi.

All have aligned themselves with Council Decision (CFSP) 2015/1763, adopted on 1 October 2015. The restrictive measures imposed include a travel ban and asset freeze against individuals undermining democracy, obstructing the search for a political solution to the crisis in Burundi or involved in acts that constitute serious human rights abuses.

Four individuals were listed for their involvement with violence and repression during the demonstrations that started on 26 April 2015 or for participating in the attempted coup d’état of 13 May 2015.