The House Energy and Commerce Committee approved the North American-Made Energy Security Act (H.R. 1938) June 23. The bill would direct the Obama administration to expedite a decision on a State Department permit for a proposed crude oil pipeline from Canada to Texas. Introduced by Reps. Lee Terry (R-NE) and Mike Ross (D-AR), the bill would give the State Department until Nov. 1 to make a decision on whether to permit the Keystone XL pipeline expansion project. Six Democrats voted for the bill while only one Republican voted against it.