In the last newsletter, we reported that President Obama had nominated Julius Genachowski to serve as chairman of the Federal Communications Commission and Mignon Clyburn to serve as a commissioner. On June 2, 2009, Obama nominated current Commissioner Robert McDowell to a second term. McDowell was first nominated by former President George W. Bush on February 6, 2006, for the remainder of Michael Powell's term. His current term expires on June 30, 2009.

It is being widely reported that Obama will nominate Meredith Attwell Baker for the final seat on the Commission. Ms. Baker is a former National Telecommunications and Information Administration official. It is also being widely reported that the congressional hearings for the Genachowski, Clyburn, McDowell and Baker nominations will be held on June 17. If all four are confirmed, they will join current Commissioner Michael Copps to complete the five-member Commission.