On 4 September 2014, the European Central Bank (ECB) published its final list of significant supervised entities and the list of less significant institutions for the purposes of the single supervisory mechanism (SSM).

The significant list of credit institutions (in part A of the document) lists the 120 institutions that the ECB will directly supervise from 4 November 2014. The ECB will directly supervise credit institutions, financial holding companies or mixed financial holding companies that are deemed significant at the highest level of consolidation within participating Member States.

The less significant credit institutions in the participating countries (listed in part B of the document) will continue to be supervised by national competent authorities under the overall oversight of the ECB.