On 21 August, the EU introduced Commission Implementing Regulation (EU) No. 914/2014, adding six individuals to, and amending two entries of, the EU’s list of persons associated with the Al-Qaida network. The restrictive measures imposed on such persons include an international travel ban, asset freeze and arms embargo. The Al-Qaida list was established under Regulation (EC) No 881/2002.

The newly-designated individuals are: (1) Abdelrahman Mouhamad Zafir al Dabidi al Jahani; (2) Hajjaj Bin Fahd Al Ajmi; (3) Abou Mohamed al Adnani; (4) Said Arif; (5) Abdul Mohsen Abdallah Ibrahim al Charekh; and (6) Hamid Hamad Hamid al-Ali.  They are affiliated to the Islamic State of Iraq and the Levant (“ISIL”) or Al Nusrah Front (“ANF”), splinter groups of Al-Qaida, operating in Iraq and Syria respectively.

The individuals whose entries have been amended are: (1) Khalid Abd Al-Rahman Hamd Al-Fawaz, alleged conduit between various Al-Qaida splinter groups; and (2) Mostafa Kamel Mostafa Ibrahim, allegedly active with the Al-Qaida in Yemen.

The EU amended its Al-Qaida list to reflect the restrictive measures imposed on the same individuals by the UN on 4 and 15 August, pursuant to Security Council Resolutions 2161 (2014) and 2170 (2014).  Resolution 2170 also condemns any engagement in direct or indirect trade with ISIS or ANF, and reiterates that any such engagement could constitute financial support for entities designated by the UN under its Al-Qaida sanctions regime.

Commission Implementing Regulation (EU) No. 914/2014

UN Press Release – 15 August

Security Council Resolution 2170 (2014)

UN Press Release – 4 August

Security Council Resolution 2161 (2014)

Updated List of UN Designated Persons

Council Regulation (EC) No 881/2002