The Dutch administration has made a promise to the Dutch parliament to try and convince other important shipping jurisdictions to ratify the ‘Rotterdam Rules’ treaty. The Dutch administration is still convinced of the positive effects the treaty would have on the shipping sector, but will not initiate a ratification process unless other important jurisdictions, such as the United States, China and Germany, will do the same. The treaty will enter into force after 20 state have ratified it. Currently only Spain and Toga have ratified the Rotterdam Rules, whereas 24 states have signed the treaty.