The agreement was signed by representatives of ASEAN, New Zealand and Australia on February 27, 2009 and envisions a regional common market by 2015. The new agreement spans 12 economies, nearly 600 million people and a combined GDP of US$3.1 trillion. AANZFTA constitutes Australia’s first plurilateral FTA and the first time Australia and New Zealand have jointly negotiated and FTA with third countries.