Sweden has become the third country to officially ratify the agreement on a Unified Patent Court, bringing the ‘Unitary Patent Package’ one step closer.

The Swedish Parliament approved the legislation authorising ratification of the UPC Agreement and Sweden’s instrument of ratification was subsequently deposited with the General Secretariat of the Council of the European Union, on 5 June 2014.  The Swedish legislation also provides for the establishment of the Nordic-Baltic regional division of the UPC (agreed in March between Sweden, Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania). The division will be based in Stockholm and will operate in English.

The only other two member states to have ratified the agreement so far are Austria and France. At least 13 of the participating countries, including France, Germany and the United Kingdom, must ratify the agreement before it can come into force.

The European Commission’s table showing the progress of ratification can be found here.

More information about recent progress toward the Unified Patent Court and European Unitary Patent can be found here.