Agreement endorsed by EU Finance Ministers on 7 September 2010

The new bodies became operational on 1 January 2011

Agreement has been reached on the establishment of a European Systemic Risk Board (ESRB), which will provide macro-prudential oversight of the financial system, and on setting up three supervisory authorities, including a European Insurance and Occupational Pensions Authority.