Negotiators at the 18th Conference of the Parties to the Framework Convention on Climate Change in Doha, Qatar, signed a deal December 8 to extend the terms of the Kyoto Protocol through 2020. The new iteration requires no CO2 reductions from the United States, India, China, Russia, Canada, or Japan, but member countries are hoping for a global, legally binding treaty in 2015 based on CO2 reductions within each country. That treaty would not go into effect until 2020, a timetable that is too slow to prevent the critical 2 °C increase in average annual global temperatures. At sideline talks, groups called December 5 for the Green Climate Fund to be extended to other industrialized economies, contending that those countries already planning to put the Tobin tax into force should dedicate more toward climate issues.