DHS recently announced that it has designated Liberia, Guinea and Sierra Leone for Temporary Protected Status (TPS) for 18 months due to the Ebola virus outbreak. The designation will enable individuals who are living in the United States to remain in the United States and apply for an employment authorization document (EAD). Individuals can find more information, including the applications for TPS at:http://www.uscis.gov/humanitarian/temporary-protected-status-deferred-enforced-departure/temporary-protected-status

The DHS designates a country for TPS when conditions in the country are dangerous. This may be due to armed conflict, environmental disasters or other events. TPS provides certain protections to nationals of the designated country such as protection from removal from the United States, eligibility for an employment authorization document and travel authorization. TPS is not a path to US lawful permanent residence. The following countries are currently designated by the DHS for TPS: Liberia, Guinea, Sierra Leone, El Salvador, Haiti, Honduras, Nicaragua, Somalia, Sudan, South Sudan and Syria.