The Visa Waiver Program (VWP) enables eligible citizens of certain countries to travel to the United States for tourism or business for stays of 90 days or less without first having to obtain a visa.

Seven countries have been added to the list: the Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, the Republic of Korea, Latvia, Lithuania, and Slovakia.

In our last newsletter we commented on changes to the VWP and the introduction of a new Electronic System for Travel Authorization (ESTA). Beginning January 12, 2009, eligible citizens or nationals from VWP countries must obtain approval through the ESTA prior to traveling to the United States under the VWP.

U.S. Changes to VWP

General Information on VWP

ESTA Information and Application Process