Our Middle East team has produced a quick reference guide to key facts on international arbitration in the Arab countries of the Middle East. It is designed as a good place to start when considering arbitration issues - such as the seat of the arbitration and any protection afforded by bilateral investment treaties.

Which countries does it cover?

Algeria, Bahrain, Egypt, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Morocco, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Syria, Tunisia, UAE and Yemen.

What information does it provide?

  • New York Convention: Has a country acceded to the New York Convention? Ifso, on what basis and when?
  • ICSID Convention: Has a country acceded - and when?
  • Inter Arab conventions: Is a country signatory to any of the Arab conventions relevant to arbitration - the Riyadh and the GCC Conventions?
  • Local arbitration law: What is the arbitration law of each country? When was it enacted and is it based on the UNCITRAL model law?
  • Local arbitral institutions: Does a country have a local arbitration institution and (if figures are available) how many cases is that institution presently administering.
  • Bilateral investment treaties: What bilateral investment treaties has each country entered into?
  • ICSID Cases: The number of pending and concluded cases.