On April 10, the Senate confirmed Sally Jewell as Secretary of the Interior by a vote of 87-11. The 11 no votes were all cast by Republicans; however, no Republican spoke in opposition to the nomination during floor debate.

On April 12, Sally Jewell was sworn in as the 51st Secretary of the Interior. She is also the second woman to serve as Secretary; the first was Secretary Gale Norton who served under President George W. Bush.