On 1 April 2009, district councils in Cornwall, Durham, Northumberland, Shropshire and Wiltshire and district and county councils in Cheshire and Bedfordshire will be wound up and dissolved. Their functions, assets and liabilities will be transferred to new unitary councils. For more information, including on consents needed for transactions with the councils affected, see the DCLG publication: Directions to local authorities on control of disposals, contracts and reserves (Cornwall, Durham, Northumberland, Shropshire and Wiltshire).