The Securities and Exchange Commission published for comment an agreement between the Financial Industry Regulatory Authority (FINRA), NYSE Regulation, Inc. (NYSER) and ten U.S. securities exchanges pursuant to SEC Rule 17d-2, a rule that allows the SEC to approve plans for the allocation of regulatory responsibility among self-regulatory organizations. Under the agreement, each exchange gives responsibility for the detection of insider trading to FINRA for Amex, Chicago and NASDAQ-listed securities and to NYSER for New York Stock Exchange- and NYSE Arca-listed securities, no matter where trading occurs in the United States. Currently, each exchange conducts its own regulatory insider trading program and relies upon cooperation with other exchanges when potential insider trading is detected. The agreement was designed to improve detection of insider trading across the equities markets by centralizing surveillance, investigation, and enforcement.