The Sri Lankan government recently announced that the country is set to join the Madrid Protocol in August 2018. Shortly afterwards, Indonesia took another step in its accession to the Protocol, confirming that it will formally become a party on 2 January 2018. That means that the Madrid Union now has 100 members and covers 116 countries (see here for a full list).

Indonesia is the eighth member of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) to join the Protocol. Earlier this year our blog noted Thailand’s commencement into the Protocol, which also took effect this month. With Malaysia also on track to become a member in due course, the Madrid Protocol is becoming ever more useful as a means of protecting trade marks in this part of the world.

The Madrid System allows applicants who have applied for or registered a trade mark in their own country to apply for a corresponding trade mark in one or more of the countries who have signed up to the system. It offers a streamlined route to protection and is often the most cost-effective way to protect a brand in multiple countries.