On May 8, 2014, the Governor of Connecticut signed Senate Bill 36 (SB 36), which will amend the Connecticut Nursing Practice Act. Effective July 1, 2014, SB 36 will permit qualified advanced practice registered nurses (APRNs) to practice and prescribe medication without having a collaborative relationship with a licensed physician. Currently, APRNs are required to practice and prescribe, dispense, and administer medication in collaboration with a physician licensed to practice medicine in the state. SB 36 will permit APRNs who have practiced and prescribed in collaboration with a licensed physician for at least three years to independently (1) diagnose and treat alterations in health status, and (2) prescribe, dispense, and administer medical therapeutic and corrective measures and dispense professional samples. Please note, however, that APRNs will still be permitted to collaborate with physicians or other health care providers licensed to practice in the state. Connecticut recognizes the following categories of APRNs: nurse practitioner, clinical nurse specialist, and nurse anesthetist.
In addition to permitting qualified APRNs to practice and prescribe medications independently, SB 36 will also require applicable manufacturers that provide payments or other transfers of value to APRNs to submit quarterly reports to the Connecticut Commissioner of Public Health (Commissioner). The reports must include the information described in the federal Transparency Reports and Reporting of Physician Ownership or Investment Interests section of the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, commonly referred to as the “Sunshine Act.” SB 36 requires applicable manufacturers to begin submitting reports no later than January 1, 2015, and quarterly thereafter, in the form and manner prescribed by the Commissioner. Further, SB 36 permits the Commissioner to publish reported information on the Department of Public Health's website. Applicable manufacturers that fail to report in accordance with SB 36 may be assessed a civil penalty in an amount no less than $1,000, or no more than $4,000 for each payment or other transfer of value not reported.
SB 36 defines an "applicable manufacturer" as "a manufacturer of a covered drug, device, biological, or medical supply that is operating in the United States, or in a territory, possession, or commonwealth of the United States."
This section of SB 36 will go into effect on October 1, 2014.