On November 4, Senate Environment and Public Works Committee chairman Senator Barbara Boxer (D-CA), ranking member Sen. James Inhofe (R-OK), chairman of the Transportation and Infrastructure Subcommittee Sen. Max Baucus (D-MT), and subcommittee ranking member Sen. David Vitter (R-LA) unveiled a two-year surface transportation reauthorization. The bill will be marked up on November 9, and will reduce the number of core highway programs from seven to five and create the National Highway Performance Program.