On March 18, the European Environment Agency (EEA) stated that several nations exceeded the European Union’s (EU) National Emissions Ceiling Directive’s air pollutant limits in 2011. Under the NEC Directive, limits are placed on ammonia, nitrogen oxides, sulfur dioxide, and volatile organic compounds on a country-by-country basis. The countries believed to have exceeded the ceilings are Austria, Belgium, Finland, France, Germany, Ireland, Luxembourg, and Spain. The European Commission is already considering bringing infringement proceedings against 12 countries that exceeded the 2010 limits.