The EU adopted Council Implementing Regulation 381/2014 and Council Implementing Decision 2014/216/CFSP meaning that as of 15 April 2014, a further four individuals have been added to the list of persons subject to the asset freeze and travel ban originally imposed by the EU under Council Regulation 208/2014 and Council Decision 2014/119/CFSP.

The newly designated individuals are: Serhiy Arbuzov; Yuriy Ivanyushchenko; Oleksandr Klymenko; and Edward Stavytskyi. All of these individuals were designated by the EU due to their alleged involvement in crimes connected with the embezzlement of Ukrainian State funds and their subsequent illegal transfer outside Ukraine.

The asset freeze prohibits EU persons and persons within the EU from dealing in funds or economic resources that belong to, are owned, controlled or held by the designated individuals, and from making funds or economic resources available, directly or indirectly, to the designated individuals. The travel ban requires Member States to adopt all measures necessary to prevent the entry into, or transit through, their territories.

Council Implementing Regulation 381/2014

Council Implementing Decision 2014/216/CFSP

Council Regulation 208/2014 (PDF)

Council Decision 2014/119/CFSP (PDF)