On August 8, 2008, the newly inaugurated Ministry of Industry and Information Technology (MIIT) announced the appointment of heads and vice heads for its 24 departments, which include 77 officials from the agencies absorbed by MIIT, including the former Ministry of Information Industry, the State Council Informatization Office, the Commission of Science, Technology and Industry for National Defense (except nuclear power management), and the National Development Reform Commission. The MIIT announced its duties and general staff allocation on July 2 and affirms its position to promote telecom reform.