Cambodia just deposited the instrument of accession to the Madrid Protocol a few days ago. The Agreement will fully enter into force in the country on 5 June 2015.

Cambodia is the fourth member of the ASEAN (Association of Southeast Asian Nations) block of countries to become part of the Protocol after the Philippines, Singapore, and Vietnam.

The remaining of the ASEAN countries (Brunei, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar and Thailand) are at different stages of accession but continue to get ready to join the Protocol by the end of this year. At the moment they are already building the necessary structures to allow them to operate the Madrid Protocol efficiently.[1]

Overall, trade in the Asia-Pacific region will benefit from this development, and particularly this is a very important outcome for Australia, who is one of ASEAN’s ten Dialogue Partners and already has a Free Trade Agreement in place with the Association.