On 26 October 2015, restrictive measures against the Republic of Guinea were extended until 27 October 2016 by Council Decision (CFSP) 2015/1923 amending Council Decision 2010/638/CFSP.

Under the sanctions, listed individuals are subject to asset freezes and travel bans. Those listed include five individuals responsible for violence leading to more than 150 deaths in 2009, and individuals associated with them. The regime was originally more extensive but has been reduced (see for example Issue 17 of the Sanctions Alert).

The sanctions regime was last extended for a year on 21 October 2014 (see Issue 30 of the Sanctions Alert).