India and Gibraltar have signed a Tax Information Exchange Agreement (TIEA) that among other things calls for transparent sharing of information.

The Agreement was signed on February 1st by Jaimini Bhagwati, High Commissioner of India to the UK from Indian side and Gilbert Licudi QC, Minister with the responsibility of Financial Services, Gibraltar on behalf of Gibraltar. This is the 13th TIEA being signed by India.

So far India has signed TIEAs with Bahamas, Bermuda, British Virgin Islands, Isle of Man, Cayman Islands, Jersey, Macau, Liberia, Argentina, Guernsey, Bahrain and Monaco.