The chairs and ranking members of the House and Senate Agriculture Committees met on July 18 to discuss the Farm Bill; Senators Saxby Chambliss (R-GA), John Hoeven (R-ND), and Pat Roberts (R-KS) also participated. Senate Chairman Debbie Stabenow (D-MI) said she hopes to reconcile the two bills before the current version expires on September 30. The Senate filed a request for a formal conference later that day.