Six federal financial regulatory agencies – the Federal Reserve, the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau (CFPB), the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (FDIC), the National Credit Union Administration (NCUA), the Office of the Comptroller of the Currency (OCC) and the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) – extended the comment period for their proposed policy statement for assessing the diversity policies and practices of the institutions they regulate from December 24, 2013, to February 7, 2014. The agencies are doing this to allow the public more time to analyze the issues and prepare their comments regarding the proposed policy statement, which is "intended to promote transparency and awareness of diversity policies and practices within federally regulated financial institutions." For more, read the full news release.