The U.S. Department of Agriculture’s National Organic Standards Board (NOSB) has removed five non-organic nonagricultural substances—egg white lysozyme, cyclohexylamine, diethylaminoethanol, octadecylamine, and tetrasodium pyrophosphate—from the National List of Allowed and Prohibited Substances governing the use of synthetic and non-synthetic substances in organic food production and handling. After determining that these substances “are no longer necessary or essential for organic handling” based on public comments and supporting documents, NOSB decided to let their use exemptions expire on September 12, 2016.

According to NOSB, suitable alternatives or new processing and handling practices have eliminated the need for (i) egg white lysozyme as a “processing aid/preservative for controlling bacteria that survived the pasteurization process of milk that is used for cheese manufacture”; (ii) cyclohexylamine, diethylaminoethanol and octadecylamine “for use only as a boiler water additive for packaging sterilization”; and (iii) tetrasodium pyrophosphate “for use only in meat analog products.” See Federal Register, August 3, 2016.