The DOS has issued instructions on the Diversity Visa Lottery program for fiscal year 2010 (“DV-2010”). The annual Diversity Visa Lottery provides an opportunity for interested foreign nationals to apply for permanent residence in the U.S. 55,000 immigrant visas are made available to nationals of countries with low immigration rates to the U.S. Winning lottery entries are selected via a computerized lottery. Each annual lottery excludes nationals of certain countries from participation due to the increased volume of immigration from these countries. DV-2010 does not permit entry by natives of Brazil, Canada, China (mainland-born), Colombia, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Haiti, India, Jamaica, Mexico, Pakistan, Philippines, Peru, Poland, South Korea, United Kingdom (except Northern Ireland) and its dependent territories, and Vietnam. Importantly, to be entered into the DV-2010 lottery, applicants must electronically submit their entries before noon, Eastern Standard Time (EST), Monday, Dec. 1, 2008. Late entries and multiple submissions by the same individuals are not accepted.