On 20 January 2017, the The Export Control Organisation published a notice informing exporters that it has updated and amended 13 open general export licences (OGELs), two open general transhipment licences (OGTLs) and an open general trade control licence (OGTCL).

The changes to the open licences are the result of a planned update to the Military List. In particular, the licences have been amended to reflect the removal of EU sanctions on the Ivory Coast and Liberia. In addition, a number of corrections have been made to the names of destinations. For example, the Mongolian People’s Republic has been amended to refer to Mongolia, Serbia and Montenegro are now listed as distinct destinations, and the Russian Federation has been updated to refer to Russia.

The licences will not come into force until 31 January 2017 to give exporters time to respond to the changes. Exporters that no longer meet the terms and conditions of a particular licence because the nature of the goods or destinations has changed, will need to de-register from the licence via SPIRE. If the goods are no longer subject to export controls (i.e. listed under a Control List rating code heading), then exporters will no longer need to apply for a licence for the particular rating code specified.

A full list of the changes made to the licences is set out here.