Tuesday, January 6, marked the opening day of the 2009 Session of the Minnesota Legislature. Representatives and Senators arrived in Saint Paul for floor sessions that were largely ceremonial in nature. Members were sworn in and each body elected its leadership, returning Margaret Anderson Kelliher (DFL-Minneapolis) as Speaker of the House and Larry Pogemiller (DFL-Minneapolis) as Senate Majority Leader. There were 23 new members in the House, giving the DFL an 87-47 majority. The Senate DFL gained two more seats in special elections, increasing their majority to 46-21. The mood was largely congenial, but the enthusiasm is expected to wear off as legislators get down to business. A most daunting task lies before them: reconciling a $4.8 billion budget deficit.