The U.S. Senate Committee on Commerce, Science, and Transportation held an April 8,  2014, hearing to consider the nominations of Elliot Kaye (D) and Joseph Mohorovic (R)  to the Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC). Currently serving as the agency’s executive director, Kaye was tapped on March 28 by President Barack Obama to  serve as CPSC chair. If confirmed, Kaye will fill the vacancy left by Inez Tenenbaum,  whose four-year term as chair ended in November 2013. Kaye is known for playing  a key role in advancing Tenenbaum’s efforts to reduce brain injuries in youth sports,  prevent deaths and serious burn injuries to children from the ingestion of coin cell  batteries, and combat deaths and injuries from carbon monoxide poisoning. 

Kaye was joined by nominee Joe Mohorovic, named by the president in November  2013 to fill the seat vacated by Nancy Nord (R). Because no party can have more  than three commissioners at any time, Mohorovic’s nomination has been on hold  until the Obama administration could pair him with a Democratic chair nominee.  Mohorovic served as a senior CPSC staff member for several years, including as chief  of staff to former commission Chair Hal Stratton, before entering the private sector.  See, April 7, 2014.