Following a European Commission report on the reform of the European Anti-Fraud Office, 20 EU countries have agreed to set up an EU-wide prosecution service to investigate and bring to court cases involving the misuse of EU funds or large-scale VAT fraud.

The European Public Prosecutor’s Office (EPPO) will be based in Luxembourg and take on cross-border cases that national prosecutors alone often find difficult to track. It is envisaged that the service will not be operational for another three years.

The EPPO’s reach will initially be limited to the 20 EU member states that signed the agreement. The countries which have not signed up are Malta, Netherlands, Ireland, Poland, Hungary, Sweden, Denmark and the UK.

A copy of the EU press release is available to view here