The minimum wage in Minnesota is about to increase.  Effective August 1, 2014, “large employers” – whose gross annual volume of sales made or business done is $500,000 or more – will need to pay a minimum wage of at least $8.00 per hour.  “Small employers” – whose gross annual volume of sales made or business done is less than $500,000 – will either need to pay a minimum wage of at least $6.50 per hour under state law or $7.25 per hour if the federal Fair Labor Standards Act applies.

The minimum wage will increase again on August 1, 2015.  For more information about Minnesota’s minimum wage law, click here.