Last Monday, Speaker of the House Dean Cannon appointed members of the House Redistricting Committees and Subcommittees, appointing Speaker-Designate Will Weatherford as the chair of the committee. The House has formed a Redistricting Committee and three subcommittees — House Redistricting, Senate Redistricting, and Congressional Redistricting. On Wednesday and Thursday, the House held a joint meeting of the Redistricting Committee and Congressional Redistricting Subcommittee, as well as individual meetings of the House and Senate Redistricting Subcommittees. The committees heard several presentations on the relevant law and case law that provides the parameters for the redistricting process. Article III, Section 16 of the Florida Constitution requires the Legislature, during the regular session in the second year following each decennial census, to apportion the state into not less than 30 nor more than 40 senatorial districts, and not less than 80 nor more than 120 representative districts. The new districts will be adopted by the Legislature in the form of Joint Resolution during the 2012 regular session and must undergo mandatory state and federal legal reviews. Providing sufficient time for these reviews is the primary reason that the Legislature moved the start date of the 2012 regular session from March to January 2012.