With Senator Jeff Bingaman’s (D-NM) retirement, Senator Ron Wyden (D-OR) will assume the chairmanship of the Senate Energy and Natural Resources Committee for the 113th Congress. Senator Lisa Murkowski (R-AK) will remain in her role as ranking member, and the two have already begun a mutual effort to restore a bipartisan spirit on the committee. Congress has not passed a major energy bill since 2007, and Senators Wyden and Murkowski are likely to focus on targeted measures upon which they can build a consensus for action, rather than broader legislative packages.