The Central Bank has published a Handbook on the requirements imposed under the Investment Intermediaries Act, 1995. The requirements apply to those investment business firms which come within the meaning of an investment intermediary as defined in Part 7 of the Handbook.

The Handbook covers the following areas:

  • General supervisory requirements;
  • Financial position and reporting requirements;
  • Professional indemnity insurance;
  • Organisation and management; and
  • Books and records.

The Handbook is effective from 1 October 2014 and replaces the Handbook of Prudential Requirements for Authorised Advisors and Restricted Intermediaries introduced in July 2006.