2018 Election Update

With the 2018 primary elections right around the corner, campaign season is in full swing across the Palmetto State. Elections for various Republican and Democratic primary races will take place on June 12, 2018. All necessary runoffs will be held on June 26, 2018, and the general election will take place on November 6, 2018. Headlining this year’s primary elections are five Republicans and three Democrats who are vying to become South Carolina’s next governor. This is also the first year that the State’s governor and lieutenant governor will be running on a joint ticket. In addition to the highly competitive gubernatorial race, all 124 seats in the South Carolina House of Representatives are up for election this year, although not all seats are contested. For a detailed list of the candidates in the statewide and Congressional primary races, please see below.

Note: * indicates incumbent.


Democratic Primary Phil Noble (Gloria Tinubu) James Smith (Mandy Powers Norrell) Marguerite Willis (John Scott)

Republican Primary Henry McMaster* (Pamela Evette) Kevin Bryant J. Yancey McGill Catherine Templeton (Walt Wilkins) John Warren (Pat McKinney)


Republican Primary Alan Wilson* Todd Atwater William Herlong


Republican Primary Mark Hammond* Nelson Faerber Joshua Putnam Kerry Wood


District 4 – Pickens County (Republican Primary) Davey Hiott* Phillip Healy

District 5 – Pickens County (Republican Primary) Neal Collins* David Cox Allan Quinn

District 6 – Anderson County (Republican Primary) Brian White* Ryan Cowsert Rick Freemantle

District 7 – Abbeville & Anderson Counties (Republican Primary) Jay West* Dennis Ted Grindstaff

District 8 – Anderson County (Republican Primary) Jonathon Hill* Don Bowen

District 11 – Abbeville & Anderson Counties (Republican Primary) Craig Gagnon* Dale Phillips

District 15 – Berkeley & Charleston Counties (Republican Primary) Samuel Rivers, Jr.* Steven Smith

District 17 – Greenville County (Republican Primary) Michael Burns* Lee Vining

District 18 – Greenville County (Republican Primary) Tommy Stringer* Tony Gilliard

District 19 – Anderson County (Democratic Primary) Carrie Counton Hao Wu

District 20 – Greenville County (Republican Primary) Bobby Davis Adam Morgan

District 21 – Greenville County (Republican Primary) Phyllis Henderson* Bobby Cox

District 22 – Greenville County (Republican Primary) Jason Elliott* Brett Brocato Samuel Harms

District 25 – Greenville County (Democratic Primary) Leola Robinson-Simpson* Jack Logan Bruce Wilson

District 27 – Greenville County (Republican Primary) Garry Smith* Fred Wall Ira Williams

District 32 – Spartanburg County (Republican Primary) O’Neal Mintz Max Hyde

District 33 – Spartanburg County (Republican Primary) Edward “Eddie” Tallon* Tommy Dimsdale

District 37 – Spartanburg County (Republican Primary) Steven Long* Donna Hicks

District 38 – Spartanburg County (Republican Primary) Josiah Magnuson* Joan Clyborne

District 41 – Chester, Fairfield & Richland Counties (Democratic Primary) Mary Gail Douglas* Annie McDaniel

District 42 – Laurens & Union Counties (Republican Primary) Doug Gilliam Phillip Russell Brooks Carwile

District 43 – Chester & York Counties (Republican Primary) Randy Ligon Joe Tate

District 55 – Darlington, Dillon, Horry & Marlboro Counties (Democratic Primary) Jackie Hayes* Archie Scott Jack Scott

District 62 – Darlington & Florence Counties (Democratic Primary) Robert Williams* Joe Ard Linda Byrd-Spearman

District 64 – Clarendon & Sumter Counties (Democratic Primary) Dr. Robert Ridgeway* Mitch Ellerby

District 71 – Lexington & Richland Counties (Republican Primary) Nathan Ballentine* Todd Watlington Britton Wolf

District 76 – Richland County (Democratic Primary) Leon Howard* T’Nae Parker

District 77 – Richland County (Democratic Primary) Joe McEachern* Kambrell Gavin John McClenic Deyaska Spencer

District 87 – Lexington County (Republican Primary) Austin Bowers Paula Rawl Calhoon Todd Carnes

District 89 – Lexington County (Republican Primary) Micah Caskey* Billy Oswald

District 94 – Charleston & Dorchester Counties (Republican Primary) Con Chellis Evan Guthrie Glenn Zingarino

District 95 – Orangeburg County (Democratic Primary) Jerry Govan* Gene Gartman, Jr. Kevin Ray

District 96 – Lexington County (Republican Primary) Kit Spires* Perry Finch

District 97 – Colleton & Dorchester Counties (Republican Primary) Don Johnson Mandy Kimmons

District 98 – Dorchester County (Republican Primary) Chris Murphy* Larry Hargett

District 100 – Berkeley County (Republican Primary) Sylleste Davis* Tom Fernandez

District 101 – Clarendon & Williamsburg Counties (Democratic Primary) Cezar McKnight* Alfred Darby

District 103 – Georgetown, Horry & Williamsburg Counties (Democratic Primary) Carl Anderson* John Henry Dedric Bonds

District 104 – Horry County (Republican Primary) Greg Duckworth* William Bailey

District 110 – Charleston County (Republican Primary) William Cogswell, Jr.* Will Freeman Russell Guerard

District 112 – Charleston County (Republican Primary) Michael Sottile* Jason Clouse

District 116 – Charleston & Colleton Counties (Republican Primary) Charles Glover Carroll O’Neal

District 117 – Berkeley & Charleston Counties (Republican Primary) William “Bill” Crosby* Jordan Scott Pace

District 122 – Beaufort, Hampton & Jasper Counties (Democratic Primary) Bill Bowers* Shedron Williams

District 123 – Beaufort County (Republican Primary) Jeffery Bradley* Paul Hartman



Democratic Primary Joe Cunningham Toby Smith

Republican Primary Mark Sanford* Katie Arrington Dimitri Cherny


Democratic Primary Phil Black Sean Carrigan Annabelle Robertson


Democratic Primary Hosea Cleveland Mary Geren


Democratic Primary Brandon Brown Eric Graben J.T. Davis Will Morin Doris Lee Turner

Republican Primary Dan Albert Barry Bell Lee Bright Stephen Brown Mark Burns James Epley Dan Hamilton Josh Kimbrell John Marshall Mosser Shannon Pierce Justin David Sanders Claude Schmid William Timmons


Democratic Primary Mark Ali Steve Lough Sidney Moore Archie Parnell


Democratic Primary Bruce Fischer Bill Hopkins Mal Hyman Robert Williams

Republican Primary Tom Rice* Larry Hammond

The Nexsen Pruet State House Update is published as a service to our attorneys, clients, and friends. It is intended to be a high level overview of the weekly activity at the South Carolina State House and does not constitute legal advice regarding any specific situation.

Firm clients who wish to receive individualized legislative updates, bill monitoring, or lobbying services may discuss options with Bob Coble or Sally Rogers. Bob can be reached at 803-253-8211 or bcoble@nexsenpruet.com and Sally can be reached at 803-540-2172 or srogers@nexsenpruet.com.