Florida House Republicans have chosen Rep. Chris Dorworth (R-Lake Mary) to serve as House Speaker in the 2014 – 2016 biennium, assuming the Republicans maintain their House majority. Rep. Dorworth will follow current Speaker-designates Dean Cannon (R-Orlando), scheduled to serve in 2010 – 2012, and Will Weatherford (R-Wesley Chapel), scheduled for 2012 – 2014.

The race for speaker ended when candidate Rep. Erik Fresen (R-Miami) announced his support for Rep. Dorworth.

Rep. Dorworth, a real estate investor, was first elected to the House in a November 2007 special election.