The Office of the Comptroller of the Currency, the Federal Reserve Board and the FDIC adopted annual adjustments to the asset-size thresholds used to define "small bank," "small savings association," "intermediate small bank" and "intermediate small savings association" under the Community Reinvestment Act ("CRA"). The joint final rule takes effect on January 1, 2020.

The joint final rule will amend the asset threshold to:

  • less than $1.305 billion for small banks or small savings associations of either of the prior two calendar years; and
  • between $326 million and $1.305 billion for intermediate small banks or intermediate small savings associations for both of the prior two calendar years.