On April 4, the Department of Energy announced it would continue to fund three Bioenergy Research Centers for five years. The Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, the Oak Ridge National Laboratory, and the University of Wisconsin-Madison in conjunction with Michigan State University, will each receive $25 million, as long as Congress approves the funding, to coordinate advanced biofuels research. The centers were created in 2007, and serve as a model for the Energy Innovation Hubs.