Senate President Keith Faber (R-Celina) announced the new committees for the 130th General Assembly that include several adjustments “to better address the legislative priorities” formulated in the new session.  The new committee structure includes three finance subcommittees for Medicaid, education and general government. The caucus said that these subcommittees will help members deal with the complex issues that will come up as they debate the state budget. Senators can serve on these subcommittees even if they are not on the finance committee.  The new committees also include a new focus on workforce development, the consolidation of the Insurance and Financial Institutions committees, separate Criminal and Civil Justice Committees and a separate Public Utilities Committee and Energy and Natural Resources Committee.  Including the three finance subcommittees, the restructuring takes the number of Senate committees from the 13 that existed in the 129th General Assembly to 20 in the 130th General Assembly.

The 130th General Assembly Senate committees and chairs:

  • Agriculture – Sen. Cliff Hite (R-Findlay)
  • Civil Justice – Sen. Bill Coley (R-Liberty Township)
  • Commerce and Labor – Sen. Kevin Bacon (R-Minerva Park)
  • Criminal Justice – Sen. John Eklund (R-Munson Township)
  • Education – Sen. Peggy Lehner (R-Kettering)
  • Energy and Natural Resources – Sen. Troy Balderson (R-Zanesville)
  • Finance – Sen. Scott Oeslager (R-North Canton)
  • Insurance and Financial Institutions – Sen. Jim Hughes (R-Columbus)
  • Medicaid and Human Services – Sen. Shannon Jones (R-Springboro)
  • Public Safety, Local Government and Veterans Affairs – Sen. Frank LaRose (R-Copley)
  • Public Utilities – Sen. Bill Seitz (R-Cincinnati)
  • Reference – Sen. Kris Jordan (R-Powell)
  • Rules – Sen. Keith Faber (R-Lima)
  • State Government Oversight and Reform – Sen. Dave Burke (R-Marysville)
  • Transportation – Sen. Gayle Manning (R-North Ridgeville)
  • Ways and Means – Sen. Tim Schaeffer (R-Lancaster)
  • Workforce and Economic Development – Sen. Bill Beagle (R-Tipp City)

With an increased number of committees, Faber also announced that each committee will only meet every other week – “A” committees will meet during the first and third weeks of the month, while the “B” committees will meet during the second and fourth weeks of the month.  Allowances will be made for committees that need to meet more frequently for a particular bill or issue.  “What I’d like to do is go to an A and B committee schedule and have the opportunity to have members actually be in their committees, not have to be in four committees at the same time,” he said.

House Speaker William Batchelder (R-Medina) also reworked the committee structure for the new session.  The changes in the House are similar to those in the Senate, with the merger of state and local government committees and of the judiciary and criminal justice committees; and the creation of a Policy and Legislative Oversight Committee and a Manufacturing and Workforce Development Committee.

The 130th General Assembly House of Representatives committees and chairs:

  • Agriculture and Natural Resources – Rep. Dave Hall (R-Millersburg)
  • Commerce, Labor and Technology – Rep. Ron Young (R-Leroy)
  • Economic Development and Regulatory Reform – Rep. Nan Baker (R-Westlake)
  • Education – Rep. Gerald Stebelton (R-Lancaster)
  • Finance and Appropriations – Rep. Ron Amstutz (R-Wooster)
  • Financial Institutions, Housing and Urban Development – Rep. Richard Adams (R-Troy)
  • Health and Aging – Rep. Lynn Wachtmann (R-Napoleon)
  • Insurance – Rep. Bob Hackett (R-London)
  • Judiciary – Rep. Jim Butler (R-Oakwood)
  • Manufacturing and Workforce Development – Rep. Kirk Schuring (R-Canton)
  • Military and Veterans Affairs – Rep. Terry Johnson (R-McDermott)
  • Policy and Legislative Oversight – Rep. Mike Dovilla (R-Berea)
  • Public Utilities – Rep. Peter Stautberg (R-Cincinnati)
  • Rules and Reference – Rep. Matt Huffman (R-Lima)
  • State and Local Government – Rep. Terry Blair (R-Dayton)
  • Transportation, Public Safety and Homeland Security – Rep. Rex Damschroder (R-Fremont)
  • Ways and Means  - Rep. Peter Beck (R-Mason)